Hello 2016…..

It feels very strange that once again we are celebrating and ‘letting in’ another New Year. It doesn’t seem that long ago that we said goodbye to 2014 and welcomed in 2015.

As one gets older it does seem as though time passes quicker. and these past few days I have been reflecting on the past year and wondering what of the new year ahead.

For me personally 2015 has been another one of those very mixed emotional years of  joy, contentment, satisfaction, frustration, worry, uncertainty and of course sadness.

After a very uneasy start to 2015, due to ill-health resulting from some emergency surgery in the previous November, and a result of  being out of work for a few months, the year did look as though it was going to be a completely bad one. In between job seeking I turned to my photography and art to help me through the bad days.  In the early Spring things did steadily pick up when I get a temporary 3 months work contract, that unfortunately didn’t work out (and because I spoke up about and pointed out a serious H&S issue and the risk of a serious accident happening I was termed a trouble maker – then as it happens about a week before my temp contract was due to become permanent a serious accident did occur when I was not on shift,  I then happened to say to my  supervisor I’m not going to say I told you so, but didn’t I  tell you so…… and a  couple of days later just before the H&S executive was due to come in and carry out an inspection, I was very conveniently told my services were no longer needed  (although i have to say a rather pathetic excuse was used to get rid of me at the end of my contract) Had I the energy and commitment at that time to fight it as unfair dismissal then I would have, and by all accounts I would have won, but the last thing I needed at that time was more stress. My priority was to find a new job asap, so I could pay my bills.  In some ways I feel lucky that I did leave because despite my insistence about improving H&S they were not interested and I felt in a way it was good to be removed from that danger.  So by late June I was out of work again, but fortunately within 48 hours after a job interview I found myself sitting behind a new desk in a new office and looking at  fresh new challenges, meeting new people and making new friends.

In many ways I feel very lucky in that respect, even though the job is not the easiest one, it is interesting, it is within a very specialized industry (its main manufacturing site based near Paris in France) and as a result it is challenging and at times can be frustrating and stressful. But I have to say overall I really do love my current job and the people I work with and my clients, and only wish it was for keeps instead of just a 12 months contract. I am now half way through my 12 months contract and unless I am really very fortunate that the young lady whose job I am covering doesn’t come back from maternity leave, then I will have to leave and face even more new uncertainties in this summer.  My only hope now is that the young lady who has had gorgeous twin boys decides that her life is best spent seeing and watching her sons grow up and develop instead of coming back to work.

I have learned a huge amount in such a few short months, and I know there is a lot more to learn in the coming months. Working with Excel formulas is now an automatic daily task and I routinely work with several different formula based spreadsheets,  where as before although I have worked with Excel spreadsheets it was never as in-depth as what I am doing now. It is extremely challenging and the work has to be very accurate and as my colleague keeps telling me ‘reconciliation Sue reconciliation’  which is vital in this role. So in nutshell, one really good thing has come out of this, it has given me much more experience to add to my CV when I have to go job hunting again later in the year, and I have also found that in some areas of the job it has helped to give me more confidence, something I have needed to gain back in such a long time

The rest of the year has had its usual ups and downs. I had to face more surgery in October which had left me with a serious complication from last years surgery in November for an abscess.  I have to go back and see the consultant in a few weeks time and if the results of that are good, then that will be another step in the right direction and another problem out of my way.

I am hoping to treat myself to a holiday this spring, there have been several places I have been wanting to visit and have never had the chance. One of the areas I have wanted to visit for many years is along our South East coast, especially  Wareham near Dorset where I would love to see Monkey World and the incredible work they do there. The chance to go there with my camera would be exceptional. The world of primates and their behaviour is something else that has always fascinated me. There are also some other fascinating places along that coast I would love to see, such as the  Jurassic Coast in Dorset as well as Bournemouth, Swanage, Portsmouth, Southampton and then the inner counties of Berkshire, Buckinghamshire and Oxford, there is so much out there that I would love to explore.

Where I am working at the moment, I have been very fortunate that we are right close by a local nature reserve, as a result of this, although I wasn’t  able to have had a holiday again in 2015 it has meant I have been able to get out and about to local places with my camera and brush up on my photography skills which in turn has increased my passion in wildlife photography and bird watching and scenery.  This is again something I would very much like to expand on this year given the right chance to pursue it, and perhaps even enter a few photo competitions. I even made a new friend in the reserve, a little Robin who now allows me to come right up to him within about 3 to 4 feet away and let me take photos of him. In addition to this I leave him a little bit of fat ball and bird seed ( and I found out a few months ago he is partial to a few odd crumbs of a well know brand of digestive biscuits) In more recent weeks I have been gradually getting him to come onto my hand and feed off me that way, he flutters above my hand, but is still not quite sure yet.  This will be a challenge for me over the coming weeks, to get him to trust me enough to come and settle on my hand to feed.

 

KNNR - DEC 2015 (2)KNNR - DEC 2015 (16) KNNR - DEC 2015 (51) KNNR - DEC 2015 (3)

The one thing I am really thankful for (that despite two very severe angina attacks that my father suffered in the lead up to Christmas week, both were severe enough to put him in hospital for a couple of days at a time) that he has come out the other side of it and is still with is. He still isn’t out of the woods yet, and has a long way to go with having to see a consultant cardiologist this month and having more tests and some changes to his heart medication, but it was a relief and it was so good that he was out of hospital in time to be able to spend Christmas day with us at my brother and sister in-laws, despite not feeling too good still.  Over the last two to three years, Christmas has become more precious to me in certain ways, because it means another one where the family can as a complete unit spend time together. It isn’t about who can buy the best presents or who spends the most money, it’s most importantly about family time. Throughout most of  the year our lives are so busy, that we tend to have very little time to celebrate until it’s such an occasion as Christmas. Don’t get me wrong, I always see members of my family throughout the year, but for us all to sit around the same table on Christmas day and share the meal, a couple of drinks and some chatter is for me very special. It is as people have said to me over the years we only ever get to see the entire family of aunts, uncles, cousins together if it is a wedding, special birthday celebration or a funeral.

I am looking forward to 2016 in some ways, in other ways I am being very cautious, I do have goals that I would like to reach, I look forward to new and hopefully exciting challenges, and at the same time i would like to find more inner peace and contentment. I hope and pray that wars and terrorism will cease, and I hope that the year ahead will be better and brighter for everyone.

Wishing you all a Happy New Year and may you find happiness, good health and peace and may the year ahead be a brighter one.

 

 

Year

Happy, Happy New Year!
We wish you all the best,
Great work to reach your fondest goals,
And when you’re done, sweet rest.

We hope for your fulfillment,
Contentment, peace and more,
A brighter, better new year than
You’ve ever had before.

By Joanna Fuchs

INDIAN BLUE PEAFOWL - DUDLEY ZOO - FEB 2015 (143) Edit

Happy New Year 2016 – photo created by Sootykins/ Sue Westwood Photography (C) 2015

 

Many thanks for stopping by.

Leave a Reply

