Time out!!

Can’t believe how long it has been since I last published. Time has passed by so quickly for me. The new job which was temporary from March to June has kept me extremely busy, and in the next week I should find out if it will become permanent or not.

I do have to admit that there were times certain aspects of the job that frustrated me to no end, and I felt like I was getting no where, and came very close to chucking it in, but the last 3 to 4 weeks has finally produced some good results. I feel now this is less frustrating and more challenging, and although there is still  a lot to do,  hopefully I have been able to put into place some ideas and implement some changes that I hope will make things a lot better and easier for everyone in the future, whether I am there or not. Having said that, I may have made it too easy for everyone and done myself out of a job. But  in this day and age progress and changes are what are needed in order to survive.

To start with, the first few weeks of the job I was working a late shift, which was basically late morning until 10 pm at night. this gave me no time to do anything or go anywhere of a morning because of  being in work by 11 am. Due to the high volume of work the first few weeks, this also meant having to work most Saturdays and then the  Easter weekend. Then a few weeks ago I changed my shift to work 6 am until 3 pm. This became more beneficial for me to keeping on top of the admin side and ensuring our customer picking and delivery targets were achieved by our warehouse staff.

Although having to get up at 4.30 am  to start work at 6 am is very exhausting, it means that when I do leave around 3 pm there is some daylight left fr me to toddle off somewhere local like Elmdon Park, with my camera. If the weather is not so good, then I can pass the time away relaxing at a local Costa Coffee with my laptop doing some some photo editing, which I have about 7,000  photos still to do.

I did manage to fit in 2 days holiday over the last 3 months, which was great as it meant I was able to go to on a  trip to  Slimbridge Wildfowl Center  near Gloucester for a day on a coach, and fit in one of my visits to Stratford Upon Avon. Up until 2 weeks ago, my Saturdays where just another working day, and it was good to finally get some time the last couple of weekends to get out and meet up with my dear friend CJ and spend some quality time together catching up.

Unfortunately, although I was 50 last month, I still haven’t had the time yet to make any arrangements to go out with my family and celebrate my birthday, I did however invest in a  telephoto lens for my camera with some of my birthday money and one of the occasions I have been wanting to try it out is with these squirrels to try to get some really good close up shots.

Yesterday,  due to my dear friend being unwell at the moment, it meant I had the first day to go off somewhere where I could on my own for a bit of ‘time out’. I decided on Jephson Gardens in Leamington Spa, one of my favourite places and one of my ‘thinking grounds’. There is something about this place that draws me to it, and yesterday I had a bit of a picnic lunch by the river and the park lake, and sat quietly for about an hour hand feeding the squirrels some monkey nuts, and allowing them to get close up for some photos.

As you walk through the gate from the main road, the first thing you see in front of you and that greets you is the trees and the lake with its own beautiful fountains.

 

 

The stunning view as you walk in Jepheson Gardens

The stunning view as you walk in Jephson Gardens

The other thing that greets you is the abundance of wildlife, the smaller birds such Blackbirds, Blue-tits, Wagtails, Robins. and then there are the bigger birds such as Crows, Pigeons, Gulls and finally on and around the lake itself the ducks and geese. But, I do remember the first time I visited this park a couple of years ago, I was astounded by the number of friendly and playful squirrels.

I have to admit I love to sit and watch these little critters and all the antics they get up to. Yesterday, I went armed with a bag of monkey nuts, still in their shells in readiness to throw a few at the squirrels. I sat down on the grass for about an hour hand feeding these little creatures, some of them approached a little nervously at first, but when they saw what treats I had in my hand, suddenly their inhibitions simply disappeared. One of them came up and very gently took the nut from my finger and thumb, put one of his paws on my finger as though to say thanks human, and looking at me sat there by my side eating his nuts. Others approached cautiously, snatched the nuts and ran away to the tree nearby and came back down to me when they were ready for some more. Within 10/15 minutes the news had spread, and suddenly there were about 10 or 12 squirrels around me all within a few feet of where I was sitting begging to be fed nuts.

Here are just  a few of the many photos I took of these little critters, I know some people don’t like them, and they get called names such as rats with bushy tails, but if you take the time to sit and watch them properly, you can see they really are clever and funny little animals.

I have to add that this place, especially in the summer is well worth a visit. It is only a few short miles away from Warwick Castle. In the next few weeks it will be full of bright colours and varying displays of so many different types of flowers. Given the lovely warm sunshine we experience yesterday, it was a glorious day out, and a simple picnic by the lake is very relaxing and enjoyable. Well worth taking some time out.

 

SQUIRRELS (97)

Where are me nuts….come on who’s hidden them?

SQUIRRELS (86)

Yum yum

SQUIRRELS (56)

I want some more nuts human!

SQUIRRELS (74)

Keep away the rest of you, this is mine.

SQUIRRELS (55)

this is my best photographic side…..

SQUIRRELS (48)

Playing cute!

SQUIRRELS (44)

Crrrunch.

SQUIRRELS (19)

ummm, I wonder how many more of these nuts that human has!

 

 

Many thanks for stopping by.

Leave a Reply

