Hope, faith and positivity bring good results!

In October and November of last year my biggest concerns and worries were about my health problems and the setbacks and lack of  opportunity to look for and secure a new job once my last temp contract was up. Despite feeling low and vulnerable, I tried to be positive about the future. In order to get through this uncertain period of my life I had to be optimistic.

Under any normal circumstances in the past I would have crumbled and completely sunk at the fact that I had no job to move on to and I was also facing the torment of not knowing for several weeks whether or not I had bowel cancer following emergency surgery early November. Instead this time, unlike other times I ‘chose’ to become focused on being positive and hopeful about the future and realized that it was up to me to try to be in control of my anxiety and depression, rather than it be in control of me (which is easier said than done) In that last temp contract I had proven to myself as well as others  that I had many transferable skills and in those few short months at Mondelez I had learnt several more to add to my skills and experience list.

Over these past three to four years or so most of my worry has been focused on settling into a new job. I have to be the first to admit I have been through a lot of emotional trauma, the disappointment of other people letting me down, my health problems as well as  family health problems and so on.  One thing however is for sure, I am now learning  to trust and even understand people more, and accept them for who and what they are, rather than judge them, this does not mean I am naive. Far from it in fact, it simply means I am in a position to show empathy for others, and have a greater understanding which in itself has made me realize how important it is for others to also be able to be positive, have faith and hope.

Throughout the past three months following my physical recovery, I have been focusing mentally on getting that all new important career sorted, and finding that right balance for my mental health in between job searching and taking time out with my camera and time out with my family. This time however instead of thinking and saying to myself  ‘if’ I get another job, I have been telling myself ‘when’ I get another job. I have to admit there have been occasions, especially throughout February as time has plodded on, with the disappointments of not securing a new job in spite of actually securing three interviews where yet again, like last year I was second choice, which in the job world is really no good at all, as only first place counts.  As a result there were times my hope, faith and positivity faltered, and I was finding that my hope was slipping away from me and I started to find the black dog was once again starting to nip at my heels. My motivation to try to find work slipped away from me and I literally found myself simply going through the motions of job searching any viable jobs rather than searching for something in my area of experience. Looking back even now, I realized for a few short weeks I was on the brink of tipping over the edge.

About mid February I applied for one particular vacancy (for a Stock  Integrity Lead Administrator) online, for a locally based company which is in actual fact the leading UK company in its field and  one of the biggest globally. As had been with all the online agency applications for every twenty jobs you apply for your very lucky if you hear back from just one of those applications and get invited for an interview, if you are fortunate to receive a reply from them then its the usual standard reply of, we are sorry but in this instance you have not been selected for an interview, etc etc. So imagine my surprise when the agency got in touch with me and said the company were very interested in meeting me for an interview. By this time the spark still hadn’t ignited and I suppose realistically I went to the interview sort of half heartedly expecting like the last three interviews to get no further. However on stepping inside the building on that late February Wednesday afternoon, I did manage to find myself on becoming more positively focused and determined to try to do well at the interview. On the whole I thought it went quite well, when I was leaving I was advised that they still had several other people to interview before deciding who would be wanted back for a second stage interview.  Thinking no more about it, I decided to simply put it down to more experience at being interviewed and how to deal with competency based questions.

The following Tuesday afternoon I received a phone call from the agency asking if I would be interested in attending a second stage interview with this same company as they were very impressed with me at the interview as well as my CV and my long list of combined admin and warehouse environment experience.  Obviously I said yes, and the details were emailed to me to attend on the Friday morning of that same week.

This particular job was being created because the company had recently won a major contract with a very big and very well-known High Street chain store. The job would mean working very different hours to what I have been used to all my  life. But in all honesty I didn’t mind this. The idea being as a Lead Administrator, who ever got the job would be working directly with, and answerable to the Warehouse Operations Manager and his deputy and dealing on the front line with the admin side of this particular companies contract and ensuring the goods coming in for delivery and then leaving for dispatch to the stores were duly processed correctly on the computer system and to basically ensure the smooth running of the processes. A wonderful and challenging opportunity I thought, and on leaving the interview I actually felt a bit more confident and positive, at the same time I had to remain calm and realistic about the whole thing in case it didn’t come off in my favour.

After that weekend of wondering, on the Monday morning (2nd March) I received a telephone call from my contact at the agency asking me how well I thought the second interview went. I thought I need to be careful here I didn’t want to sound to over-confident, but advised my contact that I personally thought it went well, and that I was very impressed with the company and the job.  A moment later I was being asked would I accept the job if I was being offered it. ”Yes”, I replied. And then I was asked about when I would be able to start.  I advised her that as soon as possible, and that I would basically just need a day of two to deal with the job center and council and sort a few things out. That’s good she said, because they would like to offer you the job.

And so begins a new chapter in my life. And the best ever birthday present ever for my 50th (even if it is a month early) Over the next three weeks, I will be involved in the initial set up for the stock and the processes so that we are ready to launch with the contract on 1st April, and from that point I officially take on my new role and new hours.  Although it is at this stage a 3 months temp to perm contract,  we will see how it goes from there….hopefully in the right direction. For me personally this is an exciting and challenging  time, as well as feeling a little nervous and scared, and to be involved at this stage so early on in its development, and to not just walk into a new job and be part of what already exists. Its early days yet, but the people I have met and will be working with are great, very friendly and helpful. Having spent my first three days last week settling in and getting to know my way round the huge building and getting to meet new people, it means this week the work starts in earnest.

It just goes to prove that remaining hopeful and positive, and having a little bit of faith in yourself and your abilities can make all the difference

 

“Start Where You Stand” Poem by Berton Braley

Start where you stand and never mind the past;
The past won’t help you in beginning new,
If you have left it all behind at last
Why that’s enough, you’re done with it, you’re through;

This is another chapter in the book,
This is another race that you have planned,
Don’t give the vanished days a backwards look,
Start where you stand.

The world won’t care about your old defeats
If you can start anew and win success;
The future is your time, and time is fleet
And there is much of work and strain and stress;

Forget the buried woes and dead despairs,
Here is a brand-new trial right at hand,
The future is for him who does and dares,
Start where you stand.

Old failures will not hald, old triumphs aid,
To-day’s the thing, tomorrow will soon be;
Get in the fight, and face it unafraid,
And leave the past to ancient history.

What has been has been; yesterday is dead
And by it, you are neither blessed or banned;
Take courage, man, be brave and drive ahead,
Start where you stand.

Many thanks for stopping by, and letting me share my good news with you all.

One thought on “Hope, faith and positivity bring good results!

  1. caroleliz3 says:

    I have seen how you have struggled these past months and so happy for you finally having such a positive outcome which you rightly deserve.

    Like

Leave a Reply

