Treasured family memories.

There is a lot to be said for memories. We all hold our own dear memories about the past whether it be regarding family, friends or even something about one’s self.

In the back of my little brain I have a stash of many good and an unfortunately a selection of bad memories, that as they say goes with the territory.  But the ones I have and always will cherish and hold onto dearly are those regarding my family. These are the ones that are most precious to me and the ones when times are bad or just sad I think back over the wonderful family that I have been part of for almost half a century.

On my bookshelf stands a small family photograph that I took when I was much younger, it has always taken pride of place among all my photos and souvenirs.  I still remember the evening I took that photo with my first  little disc camera. It was taken at one of my Aunty and Uncles house on the  traditional Christmas night family gathering back in the  1980’s. Our family back then consisted of my mom, dad, brother as well as my aunts, uncles, cousins and my great cousins who were youngsters at the time but now grown up and with children of their own. Unfortunately over the years most of the older members of my family have passed away, and for me personally that is why it is so important to enjoy and cherish all those very special times we had when growing up.

Today however has been another very sad day for our family at the loss of my cousin Janice (affectionately called by me ‘Aunty Jan’ ) and despite all the sadness today, I was able to grasp some of those fond and cherished  memories and especially that one in particular treasured photograph. It’s a times like this that you really do understand how important family is…..and how important those memories are and why they become so cherished.

 

Your Family

Your family are people, you can depend,
If you get in trouble, they shall defend.
They are the one’s that understand,
Always willing to give you a hand.

Your family, you should always cherish,
Without them you would probably perish.
Your connection with them is very deep,
If something happens, together you weep.

You family can help, your confidence build,
With their love and support, you’ll feel fulfilled.
Just don’t forget to show your appreciation,
That will strengthen your relation.

by AnitaPoems

In loving memory of my cousin Janice Spalding, a wonderfully dedicated and loving wife to my late cousin Graham. A wonderful and loving mother to Joanne and Michelle, and mother in law to Steve and Andy, and grandmother to Ellen, Jack and Joe. And for me  an incredible cousin and friend, as well as a wonderful friend to many others.

TIME

They say that time can heal all wounds
and this I know is true,

So time is what it’s going to take
For every one of you.

And when enough time has gone by
in weeks or months or years,

Fond memories of the times you’ve shared,
will then replace your tears.

But as for now a brand new star
lights up the Heaven blue,

Brightening up the darkest nights
to help you make it through.

And even though God called her home,
she’s never really gone,

Remaining always in your heart,
her memory will live on.

by Patricia Capansky

R.I.P.  ‘Aunty Jan’  now at peace and reunited with Graham.

b. 19th October 1944  –  d. 22nd October 2014.

Leave a Reply

