Living up to its name!

During recent weeks, since losing my job last month, it has been difficult  for me to me stay on top, so far I’m glad to say I have managed to do this. Mainly because I have  managed to do a balancing act in more ways than one. At the moment my blogs name Day By Day is living up to its name. It is about getting through this  time day by day, rather than looking way too far ahead into the future.

Job searching is mentally exhausting as well as frustrating and demoralising, and it does put a huge dent in your already low confidence level.

Hour after hour, day after day I have been doing what is required of me by the government. However, the one thing I have become extremely aware of this past week or two is that enough is enough. You can only do so much on-line with job applications, namely because you’re not getting any reply or feedback from any employers or agencies that you are applying for. Every day I get job alerts from several sites, but I am finding as is the case with most of these alerts, it is the exact same jobs and details that are being emailed to me continuously over several weeks, I know this because I systematically go through them and move them from my inbox in to a file and do a comparison.

As a result of all this, I decided to split each of my weeks up and make good use of them, not just with the job searching but also by staying mentally afloat by getting out with my camera. I have come to realise that I need that spark in my life at the moment, in order to keep on top of the job searching and without allowing to let myself get deflated. This has meant over the past month through  May, I have (weather conditions permitting) split my weeks up and allowed myself the luxury of having a ride out somewhere with a packed lunched and my trusty camera to take in some local sights, the odd day here or there.

The combination of good fresh air, peaceful surroundings, water, beautiful scenery and the odd few animals is what inspires me most of all. This way of thinking has enabled me to visit a couple of local parks, as well as Birmingham Nature Reserve/Centre, Birmingham Botanical Gardens and a relaxing stroll along the River Severn in Worcester. In addition to this on 20th April, I had an exceptional day out by coach at Longleat Safari and House in Wiltshire. As you can imagine, this gave me the chance to take many photos for my personal collection, in fact if I tell you now it is no exaggeration that I have taken over 5,000 photos in the last 5 weeks. However by the time these are cropped, edited and any insignificant or poor quality ones are deleted I’m only left with a mere 3,500 or so. Obviously there is no chance to show you all of them but in my next couple of blog writings I will show you a selection of some of my favourites. In the mean time here are a few as a taster and an idea of what to expect.

 

Birmingham Botanical Gardens.

 

BIRMINGHAM BOTANICAL GARDENS - MAY 2014 (1382) BIRMINGHAM BOTANICAL GARDENS - MAY 2014 (1483) BIRMINGHAM BOTANICAL GARDENS - MAY 2014 (1390) BIRMINGHAM BOTANICAL GARDENS - MAY 2014 (365)

BIRMINGHAM BOTANICAL GARDENS - MAY 2014 (812) BIRMINGHAM BOTANICAL GARDENS - MAY 2014 (831) BIRMINGHAM BOTANICAL GARDENS - MAY 2014 (187)

 

Birmingham Nature Reserve.

 

BIRMINGHAM NATURE CENTRE - MAY 2014 (260) BIRMINGHAM NATURE CENTRE - MAY 2014 (150) BIRMINGHAM NATURE CENTRE - MAY 2014 (570) BIRMINGHAM NATURE CENTRE - MAY 2014 (752)

 

 

Worcester.

WORCESTER - MAY 2014 (409)

WORCESTER - MAY 2014 (675)

Longleat Safari Park & House.

LONGLEAT APRIL 2014 (596) LONGLEAT APRIL 2014 (682) LONGLEAT APRIL 2014 (365) LONGLEAT APRIL 2014 (300) LONGLEAT APRIL 2014 (496)

 

Sheldon Country Park.

SHELDON COUNTRY PARK - MAY 2014 (121) SHELDON COUNTRY PARK - MAY 2014 (172) SHELDON COUNTRY PARK - MAY 2014 (706) SHELDON COUNTRY PARK - MAY 2014 (851) SHELDON COUNTRY PARK - MAY 2014 (1164)

 

 

Brueton Park, Solihull.

 

BRUETON PARK SOLIHULL - MAY 2014 (16) BRUETON PARK SOLIHULL - MAY 2014 (39) BRUETON PARK SOLIHULL - MAY 2014 (725)

 

Many thanks for stopping by, have a great weekend.

Leave a Reply

