I Dreamed A Dream!

This Wednesday evening I felt  very privileged to be able to see live in concert on stage at Symphony Hall in Birmingham the incredible and talented Susan Boyle.

This ladies voice is magical, so powerful and varied. A terrific selection of old and new songs, some very well-known and some not so well-known. Susan also has a great sense of humour when on stage.

To accompany Susan on stage she had her own wonderful  seven piece band, and her two female backing vocalists, and  special guest singer Lance  Ellington (son of the legendary Ray Ellington of The Ray Ellington Quartet)  and the Birmingham Community Gospel Choir.

Back in 2009 I remember that night when Susan first appeared on Britain’s Got Talent, her rendition of I dreamed a dream was awesome and very memorable. An ordinary lady with an incredible passion for singing. My first instinct when she started singing was this lady would do very well and that she had a great singing future ahead of her….even if she didn’t win Britain’s Got Talent. Like the majority who heard her that evening, I don’t think any of us anticipated the respect and the fame she has earned in her life since then. Susan Boyle was an overnight sensation across the globe, and deservedly so.

Susan Boyle has the most beautiful and incredibly powerful voice, notably so when I have listened to her on my CD’s or on my MP3 player, but to be able to experience that voice from just a few feet away from the stage with her performing live was a dream that I have dreamed for the last 4 yrs and has made it a night of music to remember for me.

I was so pleased when Susan sat down at the piano and started playing, (with some humour to begin with!), one of my favourite songs of all time ”Who I Was Born To Be” before finally standing up and belting it out to the audience, this song is very inspiring for me.

 

Lyrics – Who I Was Born To Be.

When I was a child
I could see the wind in the trees
And I heard a song in the breeze
It was there, singing out my name

But I am not a girl
I have known the taste of defeat
And I’ve finally grown to believe
It will all come around again

And though I may not know the answers
I can finally say I am free
And if the questions led me here
Then I am who I was born to be

And so here am I
Open arms and ready to stand
I’ve got the world in my hands
And it feels like my turn to fly

Though I may not know the answers
I can finally say I am free
And if the questions led me here
Then I am who I was born to be

When I was a child
There were flowers that bloomed in the night
Unafraid to take in the light
Unashamed to have braved the dark

Though I may not know the answers
I can finally say I am free
And if the questions led me here
Then I am who I was born to be
I am who I was born to be.

At the end of the evening to complete the show, and to a standing ovation, it had to be of course ”I Dreamed A Dream”   THE  song that brought recognition to  Susan Boyle’s incredible singing talent.

Alas unfortunately, due to a no photographs or recording  policy, I was unable to take any photos of her at this concert. But that doesn’t matter as  have many lovely memories of the evening.

I look forward to the release of Susan’s sixth album, which should be out soon, and indeed I hope in the near future a return concert in Birmingham.

Many thanks for stopping by.

Leave a Reply

