A Very Lucky Escape!!

Having got home tonight I surveyed properly the damage to a tree which sits…..or should I say did sit outside my bedroom window and flat balcony. The roots torn up across our lawn, and the tree trunk snapped off.

A very lucky escape

The fallen tree outside my bedroom and balcony window. As you can see my balcony is the top white one and my bedroom the first window in from the balcony.

This morning on my way to work, it was still very dark and I was in a hurry to catch my first bus in to Birmingham. On leaving my flat I was shocked to see that the tree had been torn down by the gale force winds in the night and early hours of this morning. I have to admit that last night I was scared of the creaking and groaning of the tree….and in fact a lot of those in the area. The wind tends to cause so many sounds that can be eerie and unnerving at times. Yesterday was nicknamed ‘Wild Wednesday’ and with gale force winds reaching 100 mph in most of the UK, it’s no wonder it was called that!

It was only tonight I realised what a lucky escape I had last night, had the tree fell just a few feet to the left it would have come crashing down in to my bedroom window and balcony, and who knows I might not have been here to write my blog story tonight. Sends a shiver down my spine, and I don’t mean because of the cold.

Living in a built up area, and having a top flat in a two storey building, I have realised over a number of years how lucky I am to be protected from the elements, unlike so many others, especially in more rural areas. We have canals near by where I live and a local ‘Mill Pool’ close  by I have known in the past on occasions  for these to cause flooding, and indeed I have been aware of some trees having come down in the area in the past when we have suffered exceptionally bad weather conditions.

This tree has been here longer than I have lived in my little flat, and I have been there some 15 or so years. In fact one of the reasons I chose this flat was because of the tree right outside my bedroom window, a mere few feet away. Imagining waking up every morning and opening your bedroom curtains and seeing it in front of you, in the early part of the winter full of red berries inviting the birds the feast on it. In the summer the beautiful green  leaves, and the numerous different species of birds that have them singing to you. On a couple of occasions I have been fortunate to see Woodpeckers, Thrushes and a different selection of Tits and Finches. alas no longer will I have that pleasure.

The devastation this British weather has caused  over the past couple of weeks is unbelievable, when something this significant happens in your own life, it makes you realise how lucky you are compared to those who have been a great deal less fortunate, and for some who have paid with their lives. Tonight I realise just how lucky an escape I have had.

DSC_0245 DSC_0246 DSC_0243 DSC_0241

Many thanks for stopping by, and please stay safe.

One thought on “A Very Lucky Escape!!

  1. Crooked Tracks says:

    I am glad that you were not hit by the tree. I have heard about your storms. Take care.

    Like

Leave a Reply

