One woman and her camera!

As my regular followers will be aware, I have a deep passion for my  amateur photography. When all else has failed in the past to give me any form of sense of relief from  episodes of depression, then I have forced my self to pick up my camera and walk outside to capture nature or scenery, sometimes just anything, be it my local woods or one of the two parks close by to where I live, and even along a canal or river bank.  As a result of this, over the last couple of years this has encouraged me bit by bit to be a little  more adventurous in going out and exploring places where I can use this satisfaction guaranteed element in my life to try to overcome many obstacles.

I suppose realistically deep down, everyone has some form of passion in them to do something, to try to achieve something remarkable in their lives, or to just have a personal satisfaction and feel humbled by that personal experience and the outcome of what it may or may not bring them.

Ultimately I have to admit, it would be a wonderful idea for me to have my photography work recognised by  professionals, and to make some extra income from it by selling my work….but then sometimes I feel and believe that would be when the pressure sets in and the total enjoyment would go.

My motto, if that’s what one would call it is ”If you see it and like it, why not capture it”.  My approach to photography has several elements about it, firstly it has been a great recovery tool for me, as I know it has been for several of my friends who suffer depression. In its own unique way it has helped with my recovery over the past few years. Secondly, although my technical knowledge is very limited, I tend you use my sense of whether something feels and looks right to me or not. My ability for certain technical information to stay encompassed in my brain can be restrictive, so instead I rely on  a sense of feeling. After any session of photography, I cant wait to get home, download my photos on to my laptop and crop and sharpen them….. otherwise I try to do very little else in the way of editing, as I personally believe what you see is what it is. That doesn’t mean to say I don’t occasionally experiment with depths of colour or shading, but for me raw photography is what it is all about, its realism at its best. If I’m not totally satisfied with a picture then I will delete it, and mentally make a note to  myself I must do better next time, so in effect I’m continually setting myself a challenge in order to keep my interest alive. Thirdly, it is very pleasing to me to know that other people enjoy seeing what I see when I capture that moment on camera…..I have on numerous occasions been told I have a natural eye for taking a good photo.

This year the one thing I have ‘focused’ on has been macro shots, this was something that  I have never really tried before, or had any real knowledge about, until an fb friend of mine Ian Francis, himself a very experienced and accomplished photographer, set a task in a weekly competition in a photography club on fb that we both belong to.The results were amazing, everything regarding detail was incredible and being able to see such clear details made me realise that these are details that the naked eye doesn’t always allow us to see, or can only see for a few moments at a time, unless of course it can captured on camera for eternity. As a result of this over these past few months I have been experimenting and practising more and more with macro photography, and have been able to accomplish far more than I had ever hoped for. In many ways I suppose I have to expect perfection or as near as perfection from myself in what I do, before I can expect it from others. I wonder how many times we have all sat there and thought to ourselves when looking at something else that someone else has accomplished, that we can or could try to do better.

In the summer of last year I found myself visiting the Stratford Upon Avon butterfly farm, and taking close up shots of the butterflies and the flora, I very much enjoyed that experience. I love butterflies, and apart from seeing them in books, or as part of a collection, and the odd few fluttering by in the summer in our British gardens, it is indeed a rare experience to see and feel them close up, and the chance to see so many different breeds from all around the world.

This year I was determined to go back there and use my new camera and my new-found macro skills. Throughout the summer I was unable to make this trip, but a couple of Saturdays ago I did have the opportunity to go and spend a delightful few hours in Stratford, at the butterfly farm and along the river, at this time of the year it is very peaceful, and a great deal less crowded. The result was is that I was very pleased with my efforts.  But, because I always try to seek perfection in myself, as happy as I am with the results of my last visit, no doubt in a few months time I will go back again and try to do even better.

I have included a small selection below of the many hundreds I took, which I hope you like. And I certainly hope I have done all the little creatures and flora justice.

STRATFORD NOV 2013 FLORA (103) STRATFORD NOV 2013 FLORA (109) STRATFORD NOV 2013 FLORA (95) STRATFORD NOV 2013 FLORA (84) STRATFORD NOV 2013 FLORA (76) STRATFORD NOV 2013 RIVERSIDE (11) STRATFORD NOV 2013 RIVERSIDE (37) STRATFORD NOV 2013 RIVERSIDE (57) STRATFORD NOV 2013 RIVERSIDE (68) STRATFORD NOV 2013 RIVERSIDE (69) STRATFORD NOV 2013 RIVERSIDE (81) STRATFORD NOV 2013 RIVERSIDE (157) STRATFORD NOV 2013 RIVERSIDE (169) STRATFORD NOV 2013 RIVERSIDE (189) STRATFORD NOV 2013 RIVERSIDE (211) STRATFORD NOV 2013 RIVERSIDE (230) STRATFORD NOV 2013 RIVERSIDE (248) STRATFORD NOV 2013 RIVERSIDE (250) STRATFORD NOV 2013 RIVERSIDE (333) STRATFORD NOV 2013 RIVERSIDE (353) BUTTERFLY FARM STRATFORD NOV 2013 (13) BUTTERFLY FARM STRATFORD NOV 2013 (15) BUTTERFLY FARM STRATFORD NOV 2013 (25) BUTTERFLY FARM STRATFORD NOV 2013 (45) BUTTERFLY FARM STRATFORD NOV 2013 (63) BUTTERFLY FARM STRATFORD NOV 2013 (72) BUTTERFLY FARM STRATFORD NOV 2013 (82) BUTTERFLY FARM STRATFORD NOV 2013 (90) BUTTERFLY FARM STRATFORD NOV 2013 (84) BUTTERFLY FARM STRATFORD NOV 2013 (119) BUTTERFLY FARM STRATFORD NOV 2013 (122) BUTTERFLY FARM STRATFORD NOV 2013 (132) BUTTERFLY FARM STRATFORD NOV 2013 (135) BUTTERFLY FARM STRATFORD NOV 2013 (113) BUTTERFLY FARM STRATFORD NOV 2013 (146) BUTTERFLY FARM STRATFORD NOV 2013 (202) BUTTERFLY FARM STRATFORD NOV 2013 (210) BUTTERFLY FARM STRATFORD NOV 2013 (216) BUTTERFLY FARM STRATFORD NOV 2013 (233) BUTTERFLY FARM STRATFORD NOV 2013 (241) BUTTERFLY FARM STRATFORD NOV 2013 (252) BUTTERFLY FARM STRATFORD NOV 2013 (262) BUTTERFLY FARM STRATFORD NOV 2013 (264) BUTTERFLY FARM STRATFORD NOV 2013 (279) BUTTERFLY FARM STRATFORD NOV 2013 (425) BUTTERFLY FARM STRATFORD NOV 2013 (407) BUTTERFLY FARM STRATFORD NOV 2013 (401) BUTTERFLY FARM STRATFORD NOV 2013 (388) BUTTERFLY FARM STRATFORD NOV 2013 (349) BUTTERFLY FARM STRATFORD NOV 2013 (432) BUTTERFLY FARM STRATFORD NOV 2013 (467) BUTTERFLY FARM STRATFORD NOV 2013 (485) BUTTERFLY FARM STRATFORD NOV 2013 (511) BUTTERFLY FARM STRATFORD NOV 2013 (546) BUTTERFLY FARM STRATFORD NOV 2013 (555) BUTTERFLY FARM STRATFORD NOV 2013 (568) BUTTERFLY FARM STRATFORD NOV 2013 (575) BUTTERFLY FARM STRATFORD NOV 2013 (584) BUTTERFLY FARM STRATFORD NOV 2013 (596) BUTTERFLY FARM STRATFORD NOV 2013 (625) BUTTERFLY FARM STRATFORD NOV 2013 (629) STRATFORD NOV 2013 FLORA (2) STRATFORD NOV 2013 FLORA (13) STRATFORD NOV 2013 FLORA (15) STRATFORD NOV 2013 FLORA (18) STRATFORD NOV 2013 FLORA (23) STRATFORD NOV 2013 FLORA (32) STRATFORD NOV 2013 FLORA (37) STRATFORD NOV 2013 FLORA (45) STRATFORD NOV 2013 FLORA (74)

I hope you have enjoyed an insight in to my own type and style of photography work.

Many thanks for stopping by.

3 thoughts on “One woman and her camera!

  1. quirkybooks says:

    Your photos are beautiful. Congratulations on an excellent blog, I have nominated you for an award: http://quirkybooks.wordpress.com/2013/12/08/shauny-award-for-blogging-excellence-2/

    Like

  2. quirkybooks says:

    Enjoy a second star on me. I have nominated you again for Blog of the Year award: http://quirkybooks.wordpress.com/2013/12/09/blog-of-the-year-2013-twice-more/

    Like

Leave a Reply

