As autumn turns to winter.

Although spring is my favourite time of the year, I have to say that Autumn, especially October and then the change into November and winter inspires me and fills me with awe.
Even though the mornings are fairly cold and dark when I go out to work, I actually look forward to being out as the morning starts to get light, this is when I’m able to see the break in the colour of the sky from a dull lifeless black mass, and with the natural light starting to peek through and the street lamps switching off, it also means I can see what are dark patches on the landscapes becoming brighter and more colourful as the first couple of hours of the morning unwinds.
In the spring, new life begins, mother nature at her best. Having survived the cold winter weather, the spring flowers start to poke through and make their first appearance, usually a sudden rush of yellows, purples and lush greens.  In the summer the ever-changing depth of colour of flowers makes everything so bright and cheerful. But I have to say that for me autumn holds its own particular magic.  There is something special about seeing  glorious autumn colours along our british landscape. The combinations of green, reds, yellows and browns in our trees and bushes. At the moment the masses of bright red berries  are so clearly visible and plentiful. The old saying that my dad used to tell me, that  with the early berries will come the harsh winter springs to my mind.  In addition to all this the young ducklings that I have been keeping an eye on  in recent months, that were born in the spring  and summer, and have survived  are growing up and getting bigger and  are to be seen along the canal and on the  bank now of course their size and colours determining which sex they are.
Over the past few months, when I have had the opportunity, on my way to work with my camera, I have taken photos of just how I have seen these changes taking places with the seasons, and all though some may find it boring and tedious to continually visit the same areas week in and week out, I actually find it interesting to see on a week to week basis how a particular area is and does change visually, and with these visual changes come the emotional ones within me.
I love to walk along the bank of the local canal near to where I work, namely for two reasons. Firstly I find being near water very soothing and calming, and secondly in such a small area there is so much to see and hear and this gives me the perfect opportunity to photograph these changes, in addition to this I love to see our British wildlife and see how those ducklings of a few months ago are now growing up, having survived attacks by fox’s and other larger wild birds, and alas even dogs along the banks.
I know I have said this before, many times in fact, but I have to keep reminding myself just how important it is to see even these simple points of nature that are always all around us, and  because they are  there all the time we take it for granted that they always will be.
This morning I am on my way to work, having stopped off, I am  sitting having a relaxing coffee in one of my favourite Costa coffee shops. A rare opportunity to just sit down and ‘chill’ for half an hour or so before work, but it has given me the chance to attach this poem, one of my favourites, in which I feel is very fitting for this time of year (even though we are now in November…..almost December in fact !!) But I have to say for me it reflects the changes that I have witnessed over these past few months in nature and all her glory.

October’s Bright Blue Weather

O Suns skies and clouds of June,

And flowers of June together,

Ye cannot rival for one hour

October’s bright blue weather.

When loud the bumblebee makes haste,

Belated thriftless vagrant,

And Golden-Rod is dying fast,

And lanes with grapes are fragrant;

When Gentians roll their fringes tight

To save  them for the morning,

And chestnuts fall from satin burrs

Without a sound of warning;

When on the ground red apples lie

In piles like jewels shining,

And redder still on old stone walls

Are leaves of woodbine twining;

When all the lovely wayside things

Their whit-winged seeds are sowing,

And in the fields, still green and fair,

Late aftermaths are growing;

When springs run low, and on the brooks,

In idle golden freighting,

Bright leaves sink noiseless in the hush

Of woods for winter waiting;

When comrades seek sweet country haunts,

By twos and twos together,

And count like misers, hour by hour,

October’s bright blue weather.

Oh suns and skies and flowers of June,

Count all your boasts together,

Love loveth best of all the year

October’s bright blue weather.

Helen Hunt Jackson

Many thanks for stopping by, have a great day.

Leave a Reply

