Every thing is ‘ticking’ over nicely!

The past  few months has given me very little time to do a great number of things I wanted to do, other than settle in to my new job as a Services Administrator.

Unfortunately my photography has been somewhat limited, and despite only a couple of outings since my holiday in April, I have had very little time to get out and about to the extent I would have liked and have only managed a few jaunts close to home.  Having said that I really do not mind. I love my new job, and they are a smashing team of people who I work with.  And despite all my initial anxiety  and feelings of lack of confidence of being able to start afresh after all these years it seems that for the ‘time’ being everything is ‘ticking’ over nicely.

For those of my newer followers of my blog, who are not aware, I landed myself a new job in March of this year, after being made redundant from my last job, a position which I held for just over 20 yrs in a very well-known, long-established UK optical company. Having took my early release in December on health grounds, I decided to take a 3 month break to get myself well again before looking for a new career.

In March I was fortunate to be offered an administration post in a top notch watch supply/distribution and repair service company not very far from where I live, Inter city watch group. And I’m very pleased to say everything is going well at the moment and ‘ticking’ over nicely. Sorry folks couldn’t resist that little ‘wind up’.

Anyway all jokes aside, it has been a hectic few months for me, but I have to say for the first time in several years I do actually look forward of a morning to getting up and going out to work. No longer does it feel like a routine chore to have to get up and go out to earn an income. There are the down sides to this career change, but a small price to pay, financially I have taken a large pay cut in comparison to my old job, but having said that I don’t have the stress in this new job, which has to be a good thing.  My redundancy has seen me comfortably through paying the bills with minimal worries these past few months, as well as a couple of luxuries, including a holiday, new camera and a couple of new items that I needed and had put off buying for a long time.

As a result of less stress in my new job, it has meant that my physical health has been improved and so has my mental health. How long this will last no one knows, but for now I have been and am making the best of this time in my life that has given me chance to reflect a little more positively. I can’t however just throw caution to the wind, and believe that all my troubles are over for good, that is just not me and it is not in my makeup, severe and sometimes prolonged bouts of anxiety are a huge problem for me, although on the surface many would not think so, I do still have a lot of concerns about my future, and some major current on going health issues with my dad, who has recently had major sight problems.

Over the past month since all this has come about with my dad, it has made me even more aware of how important my photography is to me. Being able to go out any where including down my local woods, or canal and see the simple colourful beauty that this world of ours has to offer, things that as we see every day we take for granted, simply because it is always there, its only when someone close to you loses their sight that it hits home just how we take these simple pleasures for granted.

Summer time has to be the most colourful time of the year, especially so here in the UK. The recent spell of  extremely hot weather has not been to my own personal taste, that is simply down to the fact I don’t like the heat. This hasn’t prevented me from taking my camera out in  my bag every day and hope to get a few minutes here and there capturing new wildlife, flowers and insects that are to be seen at this time of the year.

It greatly saddens me to think that my dad will no longer be able to distinguish colours or objects, no longer be able to see properly and therefore fully enjoy all the things he has done for so many years, his gardening, fishing, reading and even watching his favourite films and programmes on TV or DVDs, due to Macular degeneration disease, which  now affects both of his eyes.

Anyway I have included a few of my most recent photos, some simple and yet beautiful things that we are able see and yet many still take for granted.

A couple of weeks ago whilst on my way to work, I was a little bit early so I was able to stop off by the canal not far from where my new job is, and because it was such a beautiful bright warm sunny morning, I went down the embankment with my camera in the hope of getting a few worthwhile shots. In the space of 1/2 an hour and a short walk later I was pleasantly surprised by what I was able to capture, and keep for looking back on in the coming years ahead.

The following are a selection of photos I have taken over the past few weeks either along the canal, my dads garden, local woods and even off the main road near where I work and loads of poppies grow.

Hope you enjoy this ‘little splash of colour’.

Many thanks for stopping by.

MISC JULY PART 1 (57) MISC JULY PART 1 (68) MISC JULY PART 1 (76) MISC JULY PART 1 (78) MISC JULY PART 1 (81) MISC JULY PART 1 (111) MISC JULY PART 1 (137) MISC JULY PART 2 (23) MISC JULY PART 1 (114) MISC JULY PART 2 (52) MISC JULY PART 2 (129) MISC JULY PART 2 (97) MISC JULY PART 2 (103) MISC JULY PART 2 (153) MISC JULY PART 2 (338) MISC JULY PART 2 (348) MISC JULY PART 2 (365) MISC JULY PART 2 (323) MISC JULY PART 2 (252) MISC JULY PART 2 (388) MISC JULY PART 3 (88) MISC JULY PART 3 (124) MISC JULY PART 3 (150) MISC JULY PART 3 (198) MISC JULY PART 3 (211) MISC JULY PART 3 (219) MISC JULY PART 4 (16) MISC JULY PART 3 (228) MISC JULY PART 4 (23) MISC JULY PART 4 (28) MISC JULY PART 4 (33) MISC JULY PART 4 (44) MISC JULY PART 4 (59) MISC JULY PART 4 (109) MISC JULY PART 4 (123) MISC JULY PART 4 (133) MISC JULY PART 4 (130) MISC JULY PART 4 (150) MISC JULY PRT 5 (4) MISC JULY PRT 5 (31) MISC JULY PRT 5 (86) MISC JULY PRT 5 (48) MISC JULY PRT 5 (35)

Leave a Reply

