Give a little smile.

I don’t think any one really  likes Monday,  for most I would think  it’s always a struggle to get out of bed, having had a weekend off and going out of routine for a couple of days. Then you get up Monday morning knowing it’s another week ahead before the weekend again.

Today has been a  really challenging day for me in my new job. I have never  been a telephone person, I have had panic attacks in the past whilst talking on the phone to people I don’t know, I’m ok talking to family and friends in general, further more I have been so used to receiving so much bad news over the phone and still find a dread in answering it. In addition to this and still having so much to learn about my new job, and I’m always wary of giving customers the wrong information. Over the years I have tried  to avoid the telephone and conversations on them, unless it has been absolutely necessary……or let me put it another way, I would rather swim in a sea of sharks!

But I have to say, I have been really surprised with myself today, in fact I would go so far to say that I was actually proud of myself  today with how I handled all the calls. Being one colleague down in the office, there were only three of us left to take the phone calls today and deal with the constant barrage  of work having to be  done on the them, the pressure was really on. I somehow managed to smile and keep smiling through out the day…..despite it being a manic Monday.

Mondays aren’t that bad really.  Being Tuesday tomorrow and my colleague still on holiday, I wonder if I will feel the same tomorrow night. I hope tomorrow that despite what is thrown at me , I can still keep smiling. And may be, just may be I am learning to face my fears and hopefully conquer them.

We will see.    Bring it on!!!

”Smile”

Smile, though your heart is aching
Smile, even though it’s breaking
Though there are clouds in the sky,
You’ll get by…
If you smile through your fears and sorrows
Smile and maybe tomorrow
You’ll see the sun come shining through
If you just light up your face with gladness
Hide every trace of sadness
Although a tear may be ever, ever so near
That’s the time you must keep on trying
Smile, what’s the use of crying?
You’ll find life is still worthwhile
If you’ll just smile, come on and smile
If you just smile

 Author: Eric Clapton

Many thanks for stopping by.

Leave a Reply

