Sweet smell of success!!!

As you may remember in my last post I was saying that I love this time of the year,  a fresh start and a new beginning…….and so it has come to pass.

Having had a much-needed and deserved break these past couple of months, following my redundancy last December, I have this week managed to land myself a new job….so for me personally this has been that all new fresh start and new beginning.

I have to be completely honest, there have been times over these past few months  ( in fact over a number of years) I have doubted myself about my ability to find a new job. But it seems the only thing holding me back was me!  Lacking self-confidence is a very strange thing.  Many of my family, friends, old work colleagues and even my GP had more confidence in me and my abilities than I had in myself. Knowing for over two long years I was going to lose my job only fuelled my depressive state, lacking that very important level of confidence I needed in myself, and then taking my early release in December and not having a new job to walk straight into added even more worry and self doubts about myself. Having said all that,  I don’t for one single minute regret  my decision to go for early release, having that all important breather from the stress it was putting me under, has enabled me to enjoy my life, see things a little differently these last 3 months. This time off gave me a chance to really think about what I wanted to do with my future, make some very important decisions, it gave me the chance to spend time with my friends and pursuing my hobbies…….and in between those times I continued fervently to find that all important new job.

Now I want to share some wonderful news with you all, this is something I rarely have the opportunity to do, but at the moment I want to share the sweet smell of success with all my followers. As of this week I was offered and accepted a new job, initially it was for 3 months as a temp, then a chance of becoming permanent. However on leaving the office tonight I was approached by my new manager who has asked me how I have felt about the last couple of days, which I have to say in all honesty has been so enjoyable in my new role in administration, and an absolutely smashing bunch of people I am working with who have made me feel very welcome, ( and we all enjoy the same type of music…which is an added bonus when you have the radio on in the dept and you feel at ease with the great flow of music and the music is from an era where you can actually understand the lyrics and all sing along!!)  Overall although it’s only been a couple of days, it has all ”felt right” it’s as though this was meant to be,  but imagine my surprise this evening when I was offered the job permanently effective immediately if I wanted it, rather than wait three months down the line. Of course…..I said yes.

What can I say, but at the moment life feels good, and all this in a year where the number 13 keeps popping up, it may be unlucky for some, but so far this year 2013 has been a good year, oh and today was 13th March….the day I was offered a new contract.  All these positive changes  have made a big difference, once I have given myself a little bit of time to settle in and get back into a routine, I feel that the next right step forward for me will be to talk to my GP about reducing my medication steadily over the coming months…..because for the first time in a very long time, I do feel my life is heading in the right direction.

And so another new chapter in my life begins, a new and exciting one. Cheers everyone.

Many thanks for stopping by.

9 thoughts on “Sweet smell of success!!!

  1. quirkybooks says:

    Congratulations Sue. I am absolutely thrilled for you. It sounds like it’s a great job and that you will be an asset to the team. On a different note, did you mange to understand and implement the instructions I emailed to you about how to put a blog award on your blog? Or did you find the instructions too daunting or complicated? The reason I ask, is because someone else is asking for me help regarding the same thing.

    Like

    • SOOTYKINS says:

      Hi Sandra, many thanks for that. Really enjoying it, and a great team that I’m working with. I have been trying to sort out the awards, and the instructions are very clear, unfortunately though time has not been on my side. The new job means an extra 30 mins travelling each way each day giving me very little time to do anything but the essential stuff. In fact my computer and camera are both collecting dust at the moment!! Even my Facebook friends are wondering where I am. Just on my way out now to see my GP about starting to gradually reduce my depression medication……fortunately our local surgery runs a Saturday am clinic for those like myself who can’t get to the clinic the rest of the week due to being at work (feels strange saying that again…..being at work!!) The weather here is dreadful, snowing, so a bit of time on my hands this afternoon to catch up with my to do list. Hope you are well. Sue xx

      Like

      • quirkybooks says:

        That’s a lot of travel time but it’s great you have a job. I am extremely pleased for you. A reduction in medication is also fantastic. It’s great to hear how well you are doing, remember to take time to relax too.

        Like

  2. […] suewestwood.wordpress.com […]

    Like

  3. quirkybooks says:

    I think this is worthy of a Best Moment award. So here is one that I am now presenting to you http://quirkybooks.wordpress.com/2013/03/28/best-moment-award/

    Like

  4. quirkybooks says:

    I have nominated you for another award. Can you tell that I love your blog? http://quirkybooks.wordpress.com/2013/03/30/double-recognition-two-liebster-awards/ Congratulations, this Liebster award is for you.

    Like

    • SOOTYKINS says:

      Many thanks again Sandra. So glad you enjoy my blog. The one thing I have learnt is that in order to give others inspiration, you first have to be inspired yourself!! To now be able to get out and about again and do the things that I enjoy so much and then be able to write about them, in order to share my experiences, I am hoping it gives others a chance to hang on to hope.

      After the last 3 turbulent years of my life, things are again looking up. I am enjoying my new job tremendously and am again looking forward to getting up and going to work each morning, something I haven’t done in a long long time. I am fortunate to be working with a great team where I am now, and the job itself is less stressful.

      Now all I need to do is set myself up a routine with fitting my blogging, photography and art/craft work in again, and find time to do all the other little things in between that I need to do. Never enough hours in the day!!

      Like

      • quirkybooks says:

        Never enough hours indeed but I have every faith in you that you will accomplish fitting everything in and more. Just give yourself time to adjust to your new lack of time and start working on introducing things that you need to do one at a time. Having an awesome team can make all the difference between loving or hating your job.

        Like

Leave a Reply

