Weather wise, it’s snow joke.

What a strange bag of weather and happenings we are getting around the world of late!!

The majority of the UK woke to snow blizzards and freezing temperatures this morning, causing major havoc on the roads, and of course causing problems at schools and businesses,  amid all of this earlier this morning (just after 5.00 am) the East Midlands suffered an earthquake with a magnitude of 2.9 which was felt across Leicestershire, Derbyshire and Nottinghamshire. Luckily no one has been reported hurt, and no structural damage has been caused. This following on from several earthquakes around the world over the last week or so, including one in Turkey on Tuesday of a magnitude of 7.5.

All this after weeks of torrential downpours and flooding in the UK. And to think that just a few months ago parts of the UK were being told there would be a water shortage and hose pipe ban. And yet on the other side of the world, Australia has been suffering from some of the highest temperatures experienced and resulting in recent bush fires.

To many this would seem very frightening……and understandably so, but in realistic terms all these weather changes apparently go on all of the time, but mainly unnoticed, and we don’t really notice all going on at the same time.

This winter….especially today I have been very fortunate to have been able to stay at home and not have to risk the public transport system, and all the problems associated with standing around in the cold waiting for hours for buses that probably will not turn up, but when they do, so many people have been standing waiting for so long, there is little chance of getting on one, namely because this country doesn’t know how to deal with these drastic weather conditions over here. In addition to this the rail network comes to a virtual halt, normally because it’s the wrong type of snow that has fallen on the line!!!!

 

032 037 025 019 017 013 012 004

 

It does make me, and I dare say millions of others, wonder  why it is this country is so ill equipped to deal with snow, especially when you look at countries such as Canada, where they deal with it without any problems on a day-to-day basis.

Having said all this,  winter wouldn’t be winter without some snow fall……and although I haven’t ventured outside in these arctic conditions today, I did manage to go on the balcony of my flat and take a few winter wonderland photos ( if nothing else but to remind me come the hot, sweaty,  humid months that it will be winter again soon)

I hope everyone has had or does have a safe journey home tonight.

 

Thanks for stopping by,

 

 

 

 

5 thoughts on “Weather wise, it’s snow joke.

  1. quirkybooks says:

    I love the photos. It seems that most of us are unhappy if it’s too hot or too cold but I love living is this country, I just don’t love slipping on the ice and hurting myself, I am trying to avoid doing that this year. I think your blog is wonderful and so are you. I have nominated you for the Super Sweet Blogger Award: http://quirkybooks.wordpress.com/2013/01/17/happy-to-be-super-sweet-super-sweet-blogging-award Congratulations.

    Like

    • SOOTYKINS says:

      Thank you once again Sandra for choosing me for this award. I am delighted that people like yourself do take the time out to read my blog.

      You must tell me the secret of how to put/load the blog awards on my page (as of yet I haven’t been able to figure it all out, not through lack of trying different things with my widgets!
      I may be handy with my camera and fishing pole, but anything beyond that to do with computers is a little out of my league.

      Like

      • quirkybooks says:

        Hi. You are most welcome. I will try to post you some instructions in the next couple of days. I am flat out with work and courses at the moment. I use a Mac rather than a PC that makes life easier. Which do you use?

        Like

      • SOOTYKINS says:

        Thank you Sandra, I have a pc working on Windows 7.

        Like

      • quirkybooks says:

        Thanks for letting me know. I work full-time in a day job and at the moment have a major project to do for my own businesses that has to be completed by Tuesday evening so it may be after that before I get back to you.

        Like

Leave a Reply

