Autumn glory in the Lickey Hills.

Another goal achieved!

A few months ago, some of my regulars may remember I sort of made an attempt to visit a place called the Lickey Hills…….unfortunately though on route I got a little bit lost and ended up instead at a place called Waseley Park near the county borders of Birmingham and Worcester. I had a terrific day there and was able to enjoy taking many photographs.

However, despite the change of destination that day, I have remained determined to visit my original choice of the Lickey Hills. This is a vast  area of natural beauty, which is  situated on the Birmingham Rubery and Bromsgrove border (Bromsgrove being a part of the county of Worcester)

This is a place that my brother and I visited many times with our parents when we were young children. So in reality it has been some 35 years since I last visited there, and I guess a lot has changed in that time. Situated just below the country park entrance is a golf course, and two watering holes!!! The first watering hole is for the wild bird life and is called the duck pond……for obvious reasons, and is situated behind the second one which  is called The Old Rose & Crown…..this one for us humans. This is a fine old public house and restaurant and is ideal for a drink or two to cool down after climbing the hills.

I believe in away my patience was being tested in getting there!! Having caught my first bus from home in to Birmingham city centre, I found my connecting bus x64 which after a short wait turned up, only to find that 3 bus stops later through town, we were told we would have to get off because the bus was changing its service number to the 98 and was doing  a slightly different route. Not a good start to the journey!!  I thus waited for the next bus which was due in 5 to 6 minutes time, however this turned up 20 minutes late. What next I thought, are we going to break down or something. Oooops, guess I shouldn’t have thought that. Three quarters of the way into a 50 minute journey……..our bus broke down. At this point, I was questioning myself……what if I am not meant to get there? Or may be I was being tested to see how really determined I was to get there or to see if I would give up so easily.

Having waited a further 20 minutes, the next x64 bus turned up and took us the rest of the journey. Having reached the bus terminus, I asked the driver how further to go to the Lickey Hills, only to be told this one doesn’t go that close and I should have gone on the 98 bus (which turned out to be the one that the earlier bus I got off was being changed too!!!) It appears that the two services start off in Birmingham and end up at the same terminus in Rubery, but do a slightly different route around the outskirts. Luckily enough a very nice driver at the terminus on the 98 bus put me right and said he stopped at a stop only a few minutes away, which was close by the road that lead to the Lickey Hills Country Park. My patience and perseverance had been well and truly tested, because I think normally by this time I would have given up and gone back home. But this time I was determined not to be beaten, and I finally made it to the entrance. I do believe that had I have given up this time, then I don’t think I would have attempted the journey again in the future.

The weather was perfect for the climb, but it sure was one heck of a climb (so glad I had my faithful old walking stick to help me up there) but it was very exhilarating. I had to make regular stops for resting my legs for a few minutes at a time, luckily enough there were plenty of benches along the route and so this made a big difference for me and thus made the walk that little bit easier.

I loved the combination of the beautiful autumn scenery and the peace and quiet up there, and further more coming up from the one side of the country park there were very few people. The air was so clear and you could clearly hear all the different birds singing. Most people had however taken the easier option of approaching from the other side…..from the main road and up to the main car park, thus missing the incredible forest scenery.

My goal was to reach the top of  Beacon Hill and the ‘monument castle’ in order to see the legendary views across Birmingham on one side, and Worcester on the other. All along the route I was able to take many photo’s of the beautiful forestry scenery, and on reaching the top of  Beacon Hill I was just in time for the setting sun. And I managed to spend a peaceful and relaxing 1/2 hour up there taking in the fresh air, beautiful scenery and stunning views…….and of course a few more photographs.

I had only two remaining goals to achieve this year to visit two more of my  favourite places. The main town of  Worcester itself, to spend a day in this charming little town by the river. And an idyllic  little place called  Foxton Locks. Unfortunately lack of transport won’t allow me to visit this beautiful little area just outside Loughborough nr Leicester. However I have to say I am very pleased that I have been able to make all these different  journeys this year, because it has all added to my own incredible journey of recovery from depression.

Here is just a small collection of some of my favourite photo’s (19) The rest of the photo’s can be seen on my Facebook page under my name  Sue Westwood, please feel free to visit.

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

Many thanks for stopping by.

 

2 thoughts on “Autumn glory in the Lickey Hills.

  1. Richard says:

    I enjoyed reading this post. I grew-up in the shadow on the Lickey Hills and my parents still live there, so I get to visit quite regularly and, thankfully, with rather less difficulty that you appear to have had when you planned to visit. It was nice to read somebody else’s words about the hills, an area that is so very familiar to me. I’ve done a fair bit of photography up in the hills, too, but enjoyed the slideshow of your images. Something I’d recommend is heading-up there in the Spring and heading from the Visitor Centre towards Pinfields Wood to see the bluebells that turn the forest floor into a mass of blue.

    On a different note, are you aware that that there are wild dear in the Lickey Hills? In all my years I have never seen them but, many years ago, my mother glimpsed a lost dear running down their road during the early hours. They live, as I mentioned, right in the shadow of the hills.

    Anyway, I enjoyed your post.

    Richard

    Like

    • SOOTYKINS says:

      Thank you for your lovely comments Richard. I do have it in mind to visit in the springtime next year. (now I do know how to get there…..no excuse!) And I will look forward to seeing the bluebells and taking photos.

      I had heard by chance whilst visiting there that there are wild dear up there, but it is of course such a vast area, and there are many places where they have such good cover to hide from us all.
      It was a lovely experience to be able to go up there after all these years, and it brought back a lot of wonderful childhood memories of many happy hours spent up there with my older brother and parents having a picnic in the school summer holidays.

      I only wish more youngsters would take the time to explore these hills, a great way to use up their energy.

      Natural beauty is so wonderful, and it’s there for us all.

      Like

Leave a Reply

