Shakespeares, swans and butterflies!!!

I made the decision a couple of days ago that this weekend I would have off from working overtime and instead give myself some more ‘me time’. Despite still suffering from fatigue of late, I have been trying to get out and do things that I feel would be good for me. Big crowded places like shopping centres are not my scene, but I am now starting to manage dealing better with other crowded areas. Small steps, as I am told!

Not being able to get out this past week and enjoy doing anything in my spare time (atrocious weather conditions) I have been suffering from a ‘itchy finger’ in other words dying to do some photography. This morning when I got up I made the decision that I would have a day in Stratford Upon Avon. This is a place where as a kid growing up in the 70s, I used to go with my dad, brother and my late Uncle Len for fishing trips and picnics in the summer months. It held a lot of good memories for me. However, despite all those fishing trips, it’s never been a place that I have ever really explored for other reasons.

Stratford Upon Avon, for those of my readers who don’t know, is the birth place of  William Shakespeare. It is a town that sits on the river Avon, and is one of the most popular toured locations in the UK after London and Birmingham. Amongst its many interesting attractions is the RSC theatre, a large number of protected swans on the river itself, the butterfly farm, several old historical buildings and of course Mary Ardens and Shakespeares home. This is a place that you can’t really see and enjoy in just one day. As a result of this I chose to visit just two parts of it today……the river to see the swans, and the butterfly farm (both of which required me to take my camera with me, and hopefully cure my itchy finger.)

Due to the adverse weather conditions these past few days, the river was very swollen and running fast, as a result of this no boats were out doing the scenic river boat trips. I heard that there was also supposed to have been a carnival there this weekend……but this got postponed. Despite the weather problems today, it didn’t deter the visitors….. and despite the torrential downpours I encountered today, it didn’t dampen my spirits.

The butterfly farm is an incredible place, it houses and breeds various species from all around the world. In addition to this because of the plants and flowers they require for their survival, the farm also holds many varieties of these plants and flowers. In the centre of the farm is a small pool with very large Koi carp and several other species of small fish, The pool is then fed by a miniature waterfall, all of which is essential for the humidity required for the butterflies to survive.!

Moving around the butterfly farm, it was an incredible experience to be able to get in amongst so many different species of these delightful and delicate little creatures….and I felt very privileged to have some of them land on me. I was able to take a lot of photos. And here are a small selection of them, which I hope you enjoy looking at.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

