Getting motivated.

Like most people I some times find it very difficult to get motivated to carry out specific tasks especially around this time of the year. When I get up to go to work its in the dark, when I come home from work it’s the dark…..,and it’s either wet, windy, cold or all three at the same time. But over the years I have tried my best to learn to embrace this time of year and deal with it as best as I possibly can. This is because for me it is a turning point in the year from winter and looking forward to spring…..my favourite time of the year.

To my way of thinking Spring signifies a new start, flowers come into blossom, the nights are starting to get lighter which means that there are more things to do outdoors than inside…..and I am an outdoor, fresh air type of girl by nature.

I look forward to the first of the crocuses and daffodils coming out, and the  blossom on the trees and even now it truly amazes me how despite some of the really harsh, bitterly cold winters we have had to endure over the years and how solid the earth becomes…somehow these amazing flowers have the instinct to survive and even thrive come the spring months. Mother nature is  just so incredible! I do so look forward to spring, but for now January is still here, and despite for most it is the most depressing month of the year….it still holds its own glory!!

At this time of the year there is one particular poem that I remember that helps to lift my spirit………and I have to say it is my favourite poem (and poet) of all time.

Daffodils.

I wander’d lonely as a cloud,

That floats on high o’er vales and hills,

When all at once I saw a crowd,

A host of golden daffodils,

Beside the lake, beneath the trees

Fluttering and dancing in the breeze.

…………………………….

Continuous as the stars that shine,

And twinkle on the milky way,

They stretched in never-ending line,

Along the margin of a bay:

Ten thousand saw I at a glance,

Tossing their heads in sprightly dance.

…………………………………….

The waves beside them danced, but they

Out-did the sparkling waves in glee;

A poet could not but be gay

In such a jocund company!

I gazed   —  and gazed  —  but little thought

What wealth the show to me had brought:

………………………………..

For oft, when on my couch I lie

In vacant or in pensive mood,

They flash upon that inward eye

Which is the bliss of solitude;

And then my heart with pleasure fills,

And dances with the daffodils.

Roll on the spring!!

Leave a Reply

