Poetry in motion..

I have to say that although these days I don’t read so many novels as much as I used to, I do like to read poetry as often as I can.

But there is nothing more relaxing on a bus or train journey, especially to and from work than to have my MP3 player on consisting of a variety of tracks of classical music with the works of Straus Jnr, Wagner, Chopin, Mozart and Verdi, and of course a book of poetry.

Although my favourite selection of poems are those by the old romantics such as Wordsworth, Keats and Byron. I do tend to occasionally read  more ‘ modern poetry’.

With poetry, unless you write it yourself to express your own personal feelings, its sometimes difficult to find a perfect one that sums up exactly what you want to say or how to say what you feel, especially at that point in time. And I have to be honest although I love to read poetry…..I cannot for the life of me write it.

Last week, I was having one of those up and down weeks, ok one day, then a little set back here and there got me down, and left me feeling somewhat deflated. It was causing me to have self doubts especially about  my future. However, this morning I did come across a wonderful Motivational Poem…..by Helen Steiner Rice,  which was able to express  how I was feeling last week and why I was feeling the way I did, and I hope this poem can help put me back on the right track.

Climb ‘Til Your Dream Comes True…….Helen Steiner Rice.

Often your tasks will be many,

And more than you think you can do.

Often the road will be rugged

And the hills insurmountable, too.

But always remember,

The hills ahead

Are never as steep as they seem,

And with Faith in your heart

Start upward

And climb ’til you reach your dream.

For nothing in life that is worthy

Is ever too hard to achieve

If you have the courage to try it,

And you have the faith to believe.

For faith is a force that is greater

Than knowledge or power or skill,

And many defeats turn to triumph

If you trust in God’s wisdom and will.

For faith is a mover of mountains,

There’s nothing that God cannot do,

So, start out today with faith in your heart,

And climb ’til your dream comes true.

Leave a Reply

